《Agile Web Application Development with Yii1.1 and PHP5》

Chapter 4: Iteration 1: Creating the Initial TrackStar Application

In the previous chapter, we introduced our development methodology, which embraces an incremental and iterative approach. Within this methodology there is the concept of an iteration. For our purposes, an iteration can be thought of as an opportunity for a development team to create working, tested, and production-ready features of an application within a specified time constraint. The development team and other project stakeholders decide which features will be worked on within this fixed amount of time. Creating such a timebox around our desired features cannot really be done in a book. So, we will let the scope of each chapter define our iteration.

From now on, we'll treat each of our chapters as a new iteration, and begin each chapter with the iteration planning section. In this section we will:

  • Identify the features and functionality that we want to focus on within the iteration
  • Provide a little upfront design and analysis if necessary, and then quickly break the items into more granular tasks for implementation

Iteration planning

From what we learned in the previous chapter about our task tracking application, we know that we are going to be building a web-based application. We also learned in Chapter 2, Getting Started, just how easy it is to create a new working Yii web application using the yiic command-line tool.

We also talked about data in Chapter 3, The Trackstar Application, but did not talk specifically about how we want to handle that data. Now is the time to provide some explicit implementation answers to the questions posed in Chapter 3. Do we need persistent data at all? Would flat files on the filesystem work just as well as a relational database?

Based on this being a web-based application and the nature of the information that we need to store, retrieve, and manipulate, we can safely say that we need to persist the data in this application. Also, based on the relationships that exist between the types of data we want to capture and manage, we feel that the best approach to storing this data would be in a relational database. Because of its ease of use, excellent price point, general popularity among PHP application developers and its compatibility with the Yii Framework, we will be using MySQL as the specific database server.

Getting a basic, working skeleton application in place and successfully connected to a database is all we want to attempt in this first iteration. So in this first iteration, we will focus only on the following basic tasks:

  • Creating a new Yii web application to be the foundation to the TrackStar application
  • Creating a new MySQL database
  • Configuring the new web application to connect to the newly created database

In Chapter 2, Getting Started, we saw how easy it is to create a new application. Even though this first iteration will be a short one, at the end, we will have a working, tested, and deployable web application.

Creating the new application

First things first, let's create the initial Yii web application. We have already seen how easy this is to accomplish in Chapter 2. As we did there, we will assume the following:

  • YiiRoot is the folder where you have installed Yii
  • WebRoot is configured to be the document root of your web server (that is,to where http://localhost/ resolves)

So, from the command line, change to your WebRoot folder, and execute the following:

% cd WebRoot
% YiiRoot/framework/yiic webapp trackstar
Create a Web application under '/Webroot/trackstar'? [Yes|No] Yes

This provides us with our skeleton folder structure and our out of the box working application. You should be able to view the homepage of this new application by navigating to:http://localhost/trackstar/index.php?r=site/index

Connecting to the database

Now that we have our skeleton application up and running, let's work on getting it properly connected to a database. Although this is more a matter of configuration than writing code, we will maintain a test-first approach, so that basic database connectivity becomes a part of our routine test suite.

Testing the connection

Chapter 3, introduced us to the testing framework provided by Yii. So, we know we add our unit tests under protected/tests/unit/. Let's create a simple database connectivity test file under this folder called DbTest.php. Create this new file with the following contents:

<?php
class DbTest extends CTestCase
{
     public function testConnection()
     {
        $this->assertTrue(true);
     }
}

Here we have added a fairly trivial test. The assertTrue() method, which is part of phpUnit, is an assertion that will pass if the argument passed to it is true, and it will fail if it is false. So, in this case, it will pass if true is true. Of course it is, so this test will pass. We are doing this to make sure our new application is working as expected for testing. Navigate to the tests folder and execute this new test:

%cd /WebRoot/trackstar/protected/tests
%phpunit unit/DbTest.phpTime: 0 seconds, Memory: 10.00Mb
 
OK (1 test, 1 assertion)

Configuring the test suite If for some reason this test failed on your system, you many need to change protected/tests/bootstrap.php so that the variable $yiit properly points to your /YiiRoot/yiit.php file.

Confident that our testing framework is working as expected within our newly created TrackStar application, we can actually test for a db connection.

Change the trivial assertEquals(true) statement in the testConnection() test method to:

$this->assertNotEquals(NULL, Yii::app()->db);

And rerun the test:

%phpunit unit/DbTest.php
There was 1 error:
1) DbTest::testConnection
CDbException: CDbConnection failed to open the DB connection: could not
find driverFAILURES!
Tests: 1, Assertions: 0, Errors: 1.

Now we have a failing test. The test is assuming the application has been configured with a database connection application component called db. (We'll talk a little more about application components later). The test is written to assert that when the application is asked for a db connection, the result is not a null value.

In fact, the skeleton application was auto-configured to use a database. A by-product of using the yiic tool is that our new application is configured to use an SQLite database. If you take a peek into the main application configuration file, located at protected/ config/main.php, you will see the following declaration about halfway down:

'db'=>array(
            'connectionString' => 'sqlite:'.dirname(__FILE__).'/../data/yiibook.db',
        ),

And you can also verify the existence of protected/data/testdrive.db, which is the SQLite database it is configured to use.

In our case, this test fails because we don't have an SQLite driver configured in our development environment. This test may not have failed for you if you happen to have the correct driver available. Before we change the configuration to use a MySQL database server, let's briefly talk about Yii and databases more generally.

Yii and databases

Yii provides great support for database programming. Yii Data Access Objects (DAO) is built on top of the PHP Data Objects (PDO) extension (http://php.net/ pdo). This is a database abstraction layer that enables the application to interact with the database independent of the specific choice of database server. All supported database management systems (DBMS) are encapsulated behind a single uniform interface. This way, the code can remain database independent, and applications developed using Yii DAO can be easily switched to use a different DBMS without the need for modification.

To establish a connection with a supported DBMS, one can simply create a new CDbConnection class and instantiate it:

$connection=new CDbConnection($dsn,$username,$password);

Here the format of the $dsn variable depends on the specific PDO database driver being used. Some common formats include:

  • SQLite:sqlite:/path/to/dbfile
  • MySQL:mysql:host=localhost;dbname=testdb
  • PostgreSQL:pgsql:host=localhost;port=5432;dbname=testdb
  • SQL Server:mssql:host=localhost;dbname=testdb
  • Oracle:oci:dbname=//localhost:1521/testdb

CDbConnection also extends from CApplicationComponent, which allows it to be configured as an application component. This means that we can add it to the components property of the application, and customize the class and property values that are there in the configuration file. This is our preferred approach.

Adding a db connection as an application component

To take a quick step back. When we created the initial application, we specified the application type to be a web application. Doing so actually specified that the application singleton class that is created upon each request should be of type CWebApplication. This Yii application singleton is the execution context within which all request processing is run. Its main task is to resolve the user request and route it to an appropriate controller for further processing. This was represented as the Yii Application Router back in our Chapter 1, Meet Yii diagrams, when we covered the request routing. It also serves as the central place for keeping application-level configuration values.

To customize our application configuration, we normally provide a configuration file to initialize its property values when the application instance is being created. The main application configuration file is located in /protected/config/main.php. This is actually a PHP file containing an array of key-value pairs. Each key represents the name of a property of the application instance, and each value is the corresponding property's initial value. If you open up this file, you will see that a few settings have already been configured for us by the yiic tool.

Adding an application component to the configuration is easy. Open up the main config file and locate the components property.

We see that there are already entries specifying a log and a user application component. These will be covered in subsequent chapters. We also see ( as we noted previously) that there is a db component there as well, configured to use an SQLite connection to an SQLite database located at protected/data/testdrive.db. We are going to replace that connection with one for a MySQL database. It can be defined as follows:

// application components
'components'=>array(
    …
    'db'=>array(
        'connectionString' => 'mysql:host=127.0.0.1;dbname=trackstar_dev',
        'emulatePrepare' => true,
        'username' => 'your_db_user_name',
        'password' => 'your_db_password',
        'charset' => 'utf8',
    ),
),

This assumes that a MySQL database has been created called trackstar_dev and is available to connect to the localhost IP of 127.0.0.1. One of the great benefits of making this an application component is that from now on, we can reference the database connection simply as a property of the main Yii application: Yii::app()->db anywhere throughout our application. Similarly, we can do this for any of the components defined in the config file.

All of our examples will be using the MySQL database. However, we will be providing the low-level DDL statements for the table structures, and we will try to keep things generic from a database implementation perspective. It is entirely possible to follow along using any Yii-compatible database of your choice. At the time of writing, Yii has Active Record support for MySQL, PostgresSQL, SQLite, SQL Server, and Oracle.

The charset property set to utf8 sets the character set used for database connection. This property is only used for MySQL and PostgreSQL databases. We are setting it here to ensure proper utf8 unicode character support for our PHP application. The emulatePrepare => true configuration sets a PDO attribute (PDO::ATTR_EMULATE_PREPARES) to true which is recommended if you are using PHP 5.1.3 or higher.

So, we have specified a MySQL database called trackstar_dev as well as the username and password needed to connect to this database. We did not show you how to create such a database in MySQL. We assume you have a favorite database you are going to use as you follow along and know how to create a new database. Please refer to your specific database documentation if you are unsure of how to create a new database called trackstar_dev, and define a username and password for connectivity.

Once the database is in place, we can test it again by running our unit test again:

%phpunit unit/DbTest.php
PHPUnit 3.3.17 by Sebastian Bergmann.
Time: 0 seconds
OK (1 test, 1 assertion)

Our test now passes

Summary

We have completed our first iteration, and we have a working and tested application that is ready to be deployed if necessary. However, our application certainly does not do much of anything. All we have is the functionality that comes out of the box from the autogenerated code when we created the application, and a valid connection to a database. This is certainly far from what we have described when we introduced the TrackStar application. But we are taking small, incremental steps towards achieving our desired functionality, and this first iteration was a great milestone towards that end.

In the next chapter, we will finally get to sink our teeth into more meaningful features. We will begin to do some actual coding as we implement the needed functionality to manage our project entities within the application.

评论 X

      友荐云推荐
      Copyright 2011-2014. YiiBook.com

《应用Yii1.1和PHP5进行敏捷Web开发》

第四章:迭代1:创建初始TrackStar应用

在上一章中,我们介绍了开发方法,这是一个迭代的方法。对我们而言,一次迭代可以看作是一个开发团队从创建项目到测试项目,最终部署到生产环境整个的时间段。开发人员和其他项目干系人决定哪些功能将在这段时间内完成。这本书不能真正的帮我们建立这样一个时间段。因此,我们在每章定义我们自己的迭代。

从现在起,以后的每一章,我们将看作一个新的迭代,并在每章的开始都有一个迭代计划的部份。在这个部份我们将要:

  • 在本次迭代中,把重点放到确定特性和功能。
  • 提供一些必要的前期设计和分析,快速将项目开发任务细化到每一个小项。

迭代计划

在前一章我们了解了什么是任务跟踪系统,我们将要建立这样一个基础Web的程序。在第二章,我们还了解到如何使用yiic在命令行下创建一个新的Yii程序。

在第三章,我们也谈到了数据,但没有特别说明如何处理这些数据。现在就来回答在第三章提出的问题。我们需要持久化数据吗?关系数据库会像文件一样好吗?

一个基于网络的应用程序一般需要存储,检索和操作信息,我们可以有把握地说,我们坚持在这个程序上使用这些性质。同样,存在不同类型的关系数据,我们需要获取与管理这些数据。我们觉得,最好的办法是将数据存储在关系数据库中,PHP开发人用考虑到Yii框架的兼容性,一般使用简单易用,价格低廉的 MySQL数据库。

我们想在首次迭代中,获得一个可以成功连接数据库的应用程序的基本骨架。所以,我们在这次迭代中将关注以下的基本任务:

  • 根据TaskStar创建一个新的Yii程序
  • 在MySQL中创建一个新的数据库
  • 配置新的应用程序使它可以连接到新的数据库

在第二章,我们已经看到创建一个新的应用程序是多么的简单,虽然首次迭代时间很短,但在结束时,我们将要做测试和部署Web应用的工作。

创建应用程序

首先要做的是创建一个最基本Yii应用程序。在第二章,我们已经了解了,这很容易就可以做到,让我们先确定下列事项:

  • YiiRoot 是Yii框架所在目录
  • WebRoot 是你的Web服务器配置的文档根目录(比如:http://localhost/

下面,在命令行,进入到WebRoot目录,并执行以下命令:

% cd WebRoot
% YiiRoot/framework/yiic webapp trackstar
Create a Web application under '/Webroot/trackstar'? [Yes|No] Yes

上面的执行结果,为我们创建了基本的目录结构和一个Yii的基本应用程序。访问下面的URL,你应该能够看到新的应用程序:http://localhost/trackstar/index.php?r=site/index

连接数据库

现在,我们已经有了一个基本的可运行的应用程序,下面让这个应用程序连接到一个数据库。虽然这个工作主要是配置问题。我们将遵循测试优先的原则,使连接数据库成为我们常规测试的一部份。

测试连接

在第三章中,我们已经了解了Yii提供的测试框架。所以,我们知道在protected/tests/unit/下添加一个测试文件,让我们在这个目录下创建一个简单的测试数据库连接的测试文件DbTest.php。并添加如下内容:

<?php
class DbTest extends CTestCase
{
     public function testConnection()
     {
        $this->assertTrue(true);
     }
}

在这里,我们添加了一个非常普通的测试代码,assertTrue()方法是PHPUnit中定义的,断言是如果参数为true将通过,false则失败。因此,在这种情况下,它传的是true所以这个测试会通过。我们编写测试文件做是为了确保我们新的应用程序工作正常。进入测试目录,并执行这个新的测试:

%cd /WebRoot/trackstar/protected/tests
%phpunit unit/DbTest.phpTime: 0 seconds, Memory: 10.00Mb
 
OK (1 test, 1 assertion)

配置测试套件
如果由于某种原因,在你的系统测试失败,你可能需要修改protected/tests/bootstrap.php中的变量$yiit正确指向your/YiiRoot/yiit.php。

相信在新建的TrackStar应用程序中测试文件已经可以运行了,下面我们可以测试一个数据库连接。

修改testConnection方法中的assertEquals(true)语句为如下代码:

$this->assertNotEquals(NULL, Yii::app()->db);

并再次运行测试

%phpunit unit/DbTest.php
There was 1 error:
1) DbTest::testConnection
CDbException: CDbConnection failed to open the DB connection: could not
find driverFAILURES!
Tests: 1, Assertions: 0, Errors: 1.

现在我们有一个失败的测试,这个测试是假设应用程序已经配置了数据库连接组件db。(后面我们将会讨论更多关于应用程序组件问题)。该测式断言,当应用程序与db连接时,其结果不为空值。

事实上,自动创建的应用程序已经使用了一个数据库,使用yiic工具生成的应用程序为我们配置了一个SQLite数据库。你可以查看protected/config/main.php文件,大约在中间部份有如下声明:

'db'=>array(
            'connectionString' => 'sqlite:'.dirname(__FILE__).'/../data/yiibook.db',
        ),

而你也可以验证protected/data/testdrive.db是否存在,这个配置是SQLite数据库所使用。

在我们的例子中,这个测试失败是因为我们的开发环境没有配置SQLite的驱动。如果你的开发环境有正确的驱动,那么这个测试可能在你的机器上没有失败。我们修改配置使用MySQL做为数据库服务器,下面让我们简单介绍一下Yii与普遍使用的数据库。

Yii和数据库

Yii 提供了与数据库编程的大力支持。Yii数据访问对象(DAO)是建立在PHP数据对象(PDO)扩展(http://php.net/pdo)基础之上。这是一个数据库抽象层,应用程序与数据库交互与具体选择的数据库相对独立。所有支持的数据库管理系统(DBMS)使用了统一的接口。通过这种方式,可以保持独立的数据库的代码。应用程序使用Yii中的DAO可以很容易地切换使用不同的DBMS。

要建立一个支持DBMS的连接,可以简单的实例化CDbConnection类:

$connection=new CDbConnection($dsn,$username,$password);

这里$dsn的变量的格式取决于具体被使用程序所采用的PDO驱动程序。一些常见的格式包括:

  • SQLite:sqlite:/path/to/dbfile
  • MySQL:mysql:host=localhost;dbname=testdb
  • PostgreSQL:pgsql:host=localhost;port=5432;dbname=testdb
  • SQL Server:mssql:host=localhost;dbname=testdb
  • Oracle:oci:dbname=//localhost:1521/testdb

CDbConnection是继承自CApplicationComponent,这使得它能够被配置为应用程序组件。这意味着我们可以将它到添加到应用程序做为组件属性,并在配置文件中自定义类和属性的值。这是我们首选方式。

添加一个数据库连接作为应用程序的组件

当我们刚刚创建基本的应用程序时,我们指定应用程序类型是一个Web应用程序。这样实际是指明根据每个请求创建应用程序的单例类 CWebApplication,这个单例类例处理整个应用程序范围内的所有请求。其主要的任务是将用户的请求路由到一个适当的控制器中进行下一步处理。关于路由的问题你可以回到第一章了解。这个单例类也可以作为中心地,保存应用程序级别的配置值。

定制应用程序配置,我们通常会提供一个配置文件,当应用程序实例被创建时初始化它的属性,这个主应用程序的配置文件位于 /protected/config/main.php。这实际上是一个PHP文件,包含一个键值对的数组。每个键代表应用程序实例的一个属性,每个值的名称是对应的属性的初始值。如果你打开这个文件,你会看到由yiic工具为我们配置好的一些设置。

在配置中添加一个应用程序组件非常容易,只需要打开主配置文件,然后找到组件的属性。

我们看到,配置文件中已经指定日志和用户的组件。这此将在后面的章节讲到。我们还看到(就像我们前面提到的),有一个DB组件,配置为使用SQLite连接到一个SQLite数据库protected/data/testdrive.db。我们将用一个MySQL数据库替换这个连接。它的定义如下:

// application components
'components'=>array(
    …
    'db'=>array(
        'connectionString' => 'mysql:host=127.0.0.1;dbname=trackstar_dev',
        'emulatePrepare' => true,
        'username' => 'your_db_user_name',
        'password' => 'your_db_password',
        'charset' => 'utf8',
    ),
),

这里假设了本地(127.0.0.1)MySQL数据库中已经建创建一个名为trackstar_dev库。其中一个很大的好处是从现在起可以使用这个应用组件,我们可以参考数据库连接作为Yii主程序的一个属性:Yii:app()->db可以使用在我们应用程序中的任何位置。同样,我们可以将任何组件的配置定义在配置文件中。

我们所有的例子都将使用MySQL数据库。但是,我们将提供DDL语句创建表结构,我们尽力让它通用于其它数据库,你可以选择使用与Yii兼容的数据库。在编写时,Yii有Active Record支持MySQL, PostgresSQL, SQLite, SQL Server, Oracle。

CharSet属性设置为utf8字符集用于数据库连接,此属性仅用于MySQL和PostgreSQL。我们在这里设置,以确保使用正确的utf8字符支持我们的PHP应用程序。 emulatePrepare=>true这个配置设置一个PDO属性(PDO::ATTR_EMULATE_PREPARES)为true,建议如你使用PHP5.1.3或更高版本。

因此,我们指定了一个名为trackstar_dev的MySQL数据库以及需要连接该数据库的用户名和密码。我们并没有告诉你如何创建这样的 MySQL,我们假设你已经有一个喜欢的数据库并知道如何创建一个新的数据库。如果你不确定如何创建一个新的trackstart_dev数据库以及定义用户名和密码连接数据库,请参阅你的特定数据库文档。

一旦建立了数据库,我们可以再次运行单元测试。

%phpunit unit/DbTest.php
PHPUnit 3.3.17 by Sebastian Bergmann.
Time: 0 seconds
OK (1 test, 1 assertion)

现在测试已经通过了

小结

我们已经完成了第一个迭代,我们的工作完成了测试应用程序,如果有必要,它可以随时部署。然而,我们的应用程序现在当然做不了很多的事情。我们现在拥有的所有功能,包括一个有效的数据库连接,都是在创建应用程序由yiic自己动生成的。这当然远远没有达到我们介绍TaskStar时所描述的功能。但是,我们正在渐渐的实现我们所需要的功能,而首次迭代是实现最终目标的一个伟大的里程碑。

在下一章,我们将终于进入更有意思的功能。我们将开始做一些实际的编码,因为我们需要确实管理我们的项目实体的功能。

评论 X

      友荐云推荐
      Copyright 2011-2014. YiiBook.com